Let’s Have Lunch

An article on proclamation vs. demonstration, by Mark Muldez.  We welcome Mark to our team of blog writers!

These past few days I have had the opportunity to have some time alone.  It feels good to take a break from working for a few days and a breather from school, work and church stuff.  I spent some of this time connecting with God over breakfast, lunch and dinner.  One of my goals is to become a worship pastor, so over meals I approached God about opportunities to minister to others.  Specifically, I asked Him to lead me to a person (or persons) that He wants me to show and give love.

Wednesday morning arrived, and after my last final I headed home.  I remembered those talks with God, and that afternoon, I thought about calling some people (my Christian friends) to invite them out to eat lunch.  Something held me back.  One thing that the Lord spoke to me about during that time was the whole idea of having lunch and coffee with friends, specifically Christian friends. I think it’s easy to reach out to our ‘Christian Friends’ and say,

‘Hey let’s hang out sometime, let’s have coffee, lunch etc.’

But how easy is it to ask your non-Christian friends to lunch or coffee?

Some of you know exactly what I’m talking about. Often, we would prefer to hang out with people that we feel comfortable spending time with, rather than with someone else..  especially if they don’t know Jesus.  Hanging out with your Christian friends is not wrong, but do we really take the necessary steps to minister to other people besides our ‘church friends’?

I think there is a time and place for fellowship with believers in Christ, but at the same time, it’s important not forget that we have a huge responsibility to take the gospel out and share Christ’s love: whether if its with a homeless person, a co-worker or a friend.  Everyone needs to hear the gospel of Jesus Christ, and it needs to start from us.

Proclamation without demonstration is useless.

To say and proclaim that we are Christians yet lack demonstration of this truth, or vice versa, is really an act of hypocrisy. God definitely challenged me this week, and I hope to challenge you as well.

Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. – James 1:22

To find out more about Mark M., visit our writer’s page.

Art Credit: Unknown

Leave a Reply

