An Anachronism

I used the word ‘anachronism’ in my post about Sybil, and it brought a few things to mind.

It is probably more than once a day that I feel like an anachronism, for a couple of reasons.

One example is that recently it was suggested to me by a friend that some of my peers may be of the impression that I’m a foreign exchange student because of how I dress.  I also don’t care to spend much time in the more popular, “hub” areas of my college (Music Hall practice rooms are my favourite places to be).  I’m not anti-social or better than other people, and I don’t aspire to be mistaken as an International Student.  It’s just the way I am.  And I’m perfectly happy that way.

In fact, life is more exciting this way!

Maybe you’re one of those people, too.

Merriam Webster defines anachronism as the following:

1: an error in chronology; especially : a chronological misplacing of persons, events, objects, or customs in regard to each other

2: a person or a thing that is chronologically out of place; especially : one from a former age that is incongruous in the present

3: the state or condition of being chronologically out of place

It is the second definition applies here.

I am not chronologically out of place in the literal sense.  I do like history, and I would love to live in different eras if risk-free time-travel were really possible (maybe if I had a Tardis?), but don’t get me wrong: I am happy to be where I am, and I know that God has placed me where I am for a reason.  I have no doubt of that.

However, taking it a step beyond, what if every Christian ought to be at least a bit of an anachronism?  If earth is only a temporal stopping-place, then perhaps our souls should feel a little displaced in the present.  Perhaps they ought to harken not only to preserving the good things from the past, but also to promoting the endlessly good things of heaven.

College has a way of making people stand out like lime green paint in a library if they do anything other than whatever is the accepted “norm”- but unless we put all our energy into blending in with the crowd, we’re bound to stand out sometimes.

What is your anachronous streak?

Life is so much more enjoyable when you free yourself from the expectations of your peers.

Photo: Audrey Hepburn

Leave a Reply

