Enter the Door

A few days ago I had an interesting dream. When I have interesting dreams, I write them down so that I won’t forget them. Here is an excerpt from this latest…

There was a place full of doors, and I and others were walking through different doors, because we knew that through one of them was God’s promise. I knew that the promise- whatever great thing the promise was- must lie behind any one of 263 doors, and I did not know which one it was, so I continued to walk. I recall as I walked through more and more of these doors, I grew more and more anxious to find this promise. As I would open doors, I would see others knocking and opening doors as well, searching as I was. I would ask them whether they had found the promise yet, and usually they answered no, but at last one of them had. This fellow traveler pointed me toward the door, just as I had finished opening over 200 doors with no success.

I awoke musing about this strange dream, and shortly after having it I went to church. I was listening to the preaching and taking notes as usual, until hearing the word “door” in the sermon caught my attention. After searching through my pile of notes this morning, I found what I wrote that Sunday so I can remember clearly what struck me. It was the words in particular, “Jesus is the door”. There are so many doors to choose from in life, but only one is spiritually right. There is no other door that can save, and no other door to God’s promise of eternal life. See the verses below –

Then Jesus said to them again, “Most assuredly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep. All who ever came before Me are thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not hear them. I am the door. If anyone enters by Me, he will be saved, and will go in and out and find pasture. The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy. I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly. – John 10:7-10

My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me. And I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; neither shall anyone snatch them out of My hand. My Father, who has given them to Me, is greater than all; and no one is able to snatch them out of My Father’s hand. – John 10:27-29

My dream compounded a simple theological truth. Jesus is the way, the truth and the life. He is the door to eternal life and life in greater abundance- He is the door to true joy and authentic life. There are hundreds of other doors, but none of them hold the great promise. We have to seek the truth, and the truth will be opened up to us, yet few are there that find the door, this gateway to eternal happiness.

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened. Or what man is there among you who, if his son asks for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will he give him a serpent? If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask Him! – Matthew 7:7-11

“Enter by the narrow gate; for wide is the gate and broad is the way that leads to destruction, and there are many who go in by it. Because narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and there are few who find it. – Matthew 7:13-14

Another interesting concept is the idea of Jesus knocking on the door of our hearts. Jesus Christ may knock at the door of your heart, asking to be welcome, but if you do not respond to his voice, open the door and let him in, how can you receive him into your life?

Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me. – Revelation 3:20

Maybe there is a door that you need to open, or a door that you need to seek this holiday season. Amidst the rush of Christmas preparations, are you willing to stop and listen for the source of the season, and to seek out the same Savior who was born and became the child in a manger?

Merry Christmas.

~ Hannah

Leave a Reply

